New to HOD....questions getting ready for Beyond

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
hearbelieveobey

New to HOD....questions getting ready for Beyond

Post by hearbelieveobey » Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:21 pm

Hello! I am new to HOD and can't wait to start! I fell in love with it at the bookfair in Arlington last year and can't wait to finish up the curriculum we have in 2 weeks so we can dive in to HOD. It has the element of fun that we have been missing with our other one. We are so excited! I have a few questions on what I need to order. I'm not sure which reading set to order. Do I order the Classic set and the Emerging readers or do you pick one or the other? My son turned 6 in January but is pretty advanced I think. He can read short chapter books alone, like Nate the Great or Cam Jansen or even just pop open the NIV bible. He comprehends well and doesn't sound stuff out. He's a natural reader that just flows. He's been reading since he was 3 and loves it! With that said, what would you suggest I order? I'm sure there has to be another post somewhere about this, but I haven't been able to find it. The hard part for me is finding things that are age appropriate even though he is advanced. Socially, he is still a fun, silly 6 year old boy and I don't want him to just push him ahead in grades but at the same time I don't want him getting bored. Hope that makes sense. I'd love any and all advice you have. Thanks again! Can't wait to dive in and get started!

Krista
Married to my best friend for almost 9 years.
Proud mom of 2 sweet boys Taylor (6) and Grayson (2).
The joy of my life is staying home with my boys to train them and raise them up to be Godly men.

my4sugars