Creating a Special Place for My Son : )

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
JoyousBlessings

Creating a Special Place for My Son : )

Post by JoyousBlessings » Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:55 am

Hello,

I am trying to get things together and prepared for homeschooling this fall. I am new to all of this and my son turns five in August, so we will be doing kindergarten. I think I am set with curriculum (HOD, of course). : )))) However, I want to create a special space for my son to do some of his learning. We won't have a homeschool room necessarily, but just a neat space for him to learn.

Right now, my dining room is our office. We don't find the need for a dining room, so it works perfect. I have a wall that I will be putting my son's desk and supplies, and I want to decorate that particular wall right above his desk with some great charts, a calendar, map, and variety of posters. I want all of these decorations to be fun, but also provide learning opportunities when he looks at them.

We have The School Box nearby which sells all kinds of decorating supplies for school, but they are a little pricey. I was wondering if anyone can direct me to a great website that sells all this cool stuff for discounted prices. I do want somewhere that is dependable also. If you know of anything please share. : )

Again, I am looking for a cute calendar to learn our days and month names, weather charts, simple math charts, a map, etc...

Thanks so much!!! : )))

sharonb

Re: Creating a Special Place for My Son : )

Post by sharonb » Mon Jul 13, 2009 12:15 pm