Average Mom

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
Karlyn

Average Mom

Post by Karlyn » Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:01 pm

Hello everyone,
I'm wondering if this curriculum is easy to teach for an average mom like myself. I don't have a college degree. Actually, I just have an A.A. from a community college, and I went to a public high school in Texas. I haven't read the classics, and I'm just learning about living books & the Charlotte Mason approach. I know that I'm supposed to learn alongside my kids, but I feel like I should have some sort of educational background to be able to teach them well. I'm not too worried about this upcoming year, since my kids are still pretty little, but I am sort of worried about the future, when they get into higher-level learning. How can I teach them something that I've never learned? Will I be in over my head if I continue with HOD through high school? I suppose I'm just second-guessing myself, and I don't feel smart enough for this job. My husband & I feel that God is leading us to do it, though. Thanks for your thoughts! :)

rumkimom

Re: Average Mom

Post by rumkimom » Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:25 pm

Karlyn - don't worry about when your kids are older, take one day at a time. :) These books are so easy to use especially for the little ones (I did 2 of them when my girls were little, but due to learning disabilities they did not work for the one. Now I back to them with my little boys). I have not used anything above Bigger. I did have a secondary education certificate (in science), but my fear was teaching them to read! I usually say that they learned in spite of me. LOL

Just wanted to encourage you that you CAN do this especially if you feel God leading you to do it!
----
Wendy C.