Am I stressed out over nothing?

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
ksoods

Am I stressed out over nothing?

Post by ksoods » Mon Jul 21, 2014 8:01 am

This is my first time posting on this board. I have loved reading topics and hope to have some encouragement or help with my situation.

I have a "young" 6 ds who just finished LHFHG last month. He loved most of the program, except for reading. He has told me many times he hates to do reading whenever we are up to that in our school day. I chose TRL to go thru with him and we made it thru lesson 16, I am hoping to finish this with Beyond when we start again next month. My problem is, that with going thru so much of this book already I would think he'd be reading better than he is. I have managed to get some VERY simple readers from a friend and the library and he still struggles thru them. He knows how to sound things out, but I don't know if he's stubborn or just doesn't know what to do. Should I be worried about this, or just plug thru the end of TRL and hope he's ready for emerging readers whenever he finishes? I am very surprised that he is not more excited to read b/c he's always been my child that loves to listen to me read for him and will every. single. day. for as long as I can do it.

Any advice/encouragement would be appreciated!

Karen
6 yr ds in BLHFHG
3 yr dd getting into everything!
3 mo dd taking everything in!

StephanieU

Re: Am I stressed out over nothing?

Post by StephanieU » Mon Jul 21, 2014 9:47 am