WAHM of three, considering HOD..how to do it?

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
debbyjg

WAHM of three, considering HOD..how to do it?

Post by debbyjg » Thu Jun 07, 2012 9:11 am

Hi!
I'm hoping for some direction from those who have been there...I am a mom of three, grades for next year K, 3rd, and 5th. I also run a licensed home bakery business (wedding and special events cakes) that keeps me really busy in the afternoons and most especially on Thursdays and Fridays.
I've been using MFW for the last several years, but last year about halfway through, we just..well, gave up. We were so, so, so tired of learning even more about Eygpt. The kids were bored, I was bored, we needed a change. From Christmas on, we started using Amanda Bennet unit studies. Which I still enjoy, and I think we will continue to use them occasionally as a routine break, but I'm still drawn to the open and go, all in one curricula. SO after getting bored with the pace of MFW, I started looking into HOD a few weeks ago.

So far I have purchased the LHFHG for my K'er. It looks like the perfect program for her. (She will be 6 in November. We tried using MFW K last year for her, but it was obvious really quickly that she wasn't ready for formal lessons.)

Now, my concern is twofold: as of now, I'm leaning toward getting Preparing for my almost 8ds with extensions for my 10dd. It seems to be the best fit for them, and I like the idea of a sweep through history.