Mid year change

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
garness

Mid year change

Post by garness » Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:10 pm

Hi, this is my first year homeschooling my 6, almost 7 year old. She had kindergarten in private school. I pieced together cirriculum and am at a loss if we are on track . I am also very unorganized and feel like I am doing things willy nilly.
We are using Horizons 1 math. We are on lesson #52. (We started in September). Explode the code workbooks, we are on workbook #3 lesson #3. Pathways readers for 1st grade. Almost done with those. My daughter is reading pretty well I think. We also do the pathways workwook that corisponds with the reader, we do this orally just to reinforce reading comprehension. For other topics we read science books in whatever topic my daughter wants to learn about. Do a little science experiment occasionally. Also reading/studying about colonial america with a couple of books from Rod and Staff (I think). We have a Williamsburg membership this year and have gone twice and will a third time soon. We do art/craft maybe once a week and she loves reading about famous artists. We want to start a music lesson.
My delema is I feel that everything is so random and I don't have a set pattern for doing anything (I'm quite unorganized and like flexability, but would like a little more guidence).