Preparing to Build -Language Arts

If you are using "Bigger Hearts for His Glory", please share your experience with us.
JenniferMcFloyd

Preparing to Build -Language Arts

Post by JenniferMcFloyd » Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:57 pm

This is my first year homeschooling. I am disappointed in the language arts portion. Preparing to Build Part 2, it is so slow and so repetitive. 349 pages on the parts of speech and it doesn't even include subjects and predicates, suffixes/prefixes. There are no lessons on writing proper paragraphs. I had to purchase several other books since beginning this curriculum and am getting frustrated.

What do others use to supplement the English/Language Arts portion of the curriculum?

tpschettle

Re: Preparing to Build -Language Arts

Post by tpschettle » Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:21 pm

Hi, Jennifer,

I hear your frustration. What grade is your child in?

I have a 2nd grader 2/3 of the way through the book. I used a workbook based curriculum with his older brother in 2nd grade, which never stuck. He didn't retain any of it. He was writing paragraphs, but he didn't understand anything about the parts of speech. He did poorly on the tests and had to be retaught the same concepts over and over. I started him in R&S in 4th grade. It was very rigorous, but presented in such a simple and logical way that for the first time, he got it.

My point is, I know where my youngest will be in 2 years. I'm not bothered that it seems easy now. I actually appreciate its step by step approach. What would have seemed repetitive to me at the time I was teaching my oldest, I now see is really unfolding information bit by bit so the student can apply it.